Welcome, Viking!

Join our new and growing community of Vikings that are exploring Valheim, together.

Enemy Balancing in Mountain and Plains Biome visual nonsense

Glorthiar

New Viking
Reaction score
First off, just to give my complaints some legitimacy I am going to say right off the back, I am a professional artist and game developer currently employed with a AAA game company.

So, I love this game, and the first 3 Biomes feel incredibly polished! I Adored Meadow, Black Forest, and Swamp! They have lots of visual character, interesting enemies (especially swamp ooooh I love swamp) and overall were a fantastic and addicting to play through!

However I am now half way through the mountain biome and have spent a lot of time in the plains biome. While I do appreciate the visuals from a purerly visual stand point, I can't help but be severly annoyed at the design of some of the later enemies. 3 enemies in particular have REALLY consistently annoyed me: Wolves, Fuling's, and Drakes.

Now while I understand wolves being hostile and aggressive, the wolves in Valheim are stupidly strong and incredibly annoying, Because they are so low to the ground and the mountain biome is very jagged, more often then not MOST of my swings go right over there heads! And even beyond being very easy to miss, they just hit *too hard* to the point it's immersion breaking, a 2 star wolf can 2 shot me while I have 3 fairly decent foods and a set of armour that is reasonably decent for the Biome, It doesn't make sense I can block a troll swinging a tree with my shield but a random wolf can bite straight through solid iron armour. Wolves have been continually frustrating! by far they are the scariest creature in the mountains, which leads nicely into my next point.